Materials Challenges for Memory

April 11-13, 2021

Organized by APL Materials

Times listed as EDT

April 11 – Day 1

Opening Remarks: 10:00am EDT
Speaker: Judith Driscoll

Session 1

10:15am – 12:00pm
Session Chair: Chiara Ciccarelli

10:15am – 11:00am
Chiral materials for spintronic memories
Speaker: Stuart Parkin
Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics, Germany

11:15am – 12:00pm
Rational design of redoxed-based memristive devices for novel computing paradigm
Speaker: Regina Dittmann
Jülich Research Centre, Germany

12:00pm – 12:30pm

Session 2

12:30pm – 2:15pm
Speaker Chair: Judith Driscoll

12:30pm – 1:15pm
Ferroelectric control of Rashba states: towards non-volatile spintronics driven by ferroelectricity
Speaker: Manuel Bibes
CNRS Unité Mixte de Physique, France

1:30pm – 2:15pm
Materials to memory: why and how
Speaker: Greg Yeric
Cerfe Labs

2:15pm – 3:00pm

Session 3

3:00pm – 4:45pm
Speaker Chair: Stuart Parkin

3:00pm – 3:45pm
Analog memory: materials, devices, applications
Speaker: Philip Wong
TSMC Stanford, USA

4:00pm – 4:45pm
Spin-transfer-torque MRAM
Speaker: Daniel Worledge

April 12 – Day 2

Session 4

8:00am – 9:45am
Session Chair: Jordi Sort

8:00am – 8:45am
Smart 2D materials: the new frontier
Speaker: Antonio Castro Neto
National University of Singapore, Singapore

9:00am – 9:45am
An opportunity for magnetoelectrics in complex oxides: designing heterostructures at the atomic scale
Speaker: Cewen Nan
Tsinghua University, China

9:45am – 10:15am

Session 5

10:15am – 12:30pm
Session Chair: Clare Grey

10:15am – 11:00am
What does gender got to do with science
Speaker: Tomas Brage
Lund University, Sweden

11:15am – 12:00pm
My way to success in science
Speaker: Claudia Felser
Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany

12:00pm – 12:30pm

Session 6

12:30pm – 2:45pm
Session Chair: Giuliana Di Martino

12:30pm – 1:15pm
Phase change memory devices for electrical and optical in-memory computing
Speaker: Abu Sebastian
IBM, Switzerland

1:30pm – 2:15pm
Operando methods for determining lithiation, switching-mechanisms and phase changes in electrochemical processes
Speaker: Clare Grey
Cambridge, UK

2:15pm – 2:45pm

Session 7

2:45pm – 4:45pm
Session Chair: Chang-Beom Eom

Poster Session – American Time Zone

April 13 – Day 3

Session 8

8:00am – 10:00am
Session Chair: Jordi Sort

8:00am – 10:00am
Poster Session – Europe/Asia Time Zones

10:00am – 10:30am

Session 9

10:30am – 1:00pm
Session Chair: Themis Prodromakis

10:30am – 11:15am
Material challenges in ferroelectric memories
Speaker: Thomas Mikolajick
NaMLab, Germany

11:30am – 12:15pm
Devices and materials for in-memory computing: challenges and opportunities
Speaker: Daniele Ielmini
Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy

12:15pm – 1:00pm

Session 10

1:00pm – 2:00pm
Session Chair: Judith Driscoll
AIP Publishing Academy: Promotion and Visibility of Your Research
Speaker: Luigi Longobardi
Executive Editor, AIP Publishing

2:00pm – 2:30pm

Session 11

2:30pm – 4:15pm
Session Chair: Chang-Beom Eom

2:30pm – 3:15pm
Industry challenges and outlook for resistive memories
Speaker: Van Le
Intel, USA

3:30pm – 4:15pm
Resistive +PCM
Speaker: Sasikanth Manipatruni
Cornell University, USA

Session 12

4:30pm – 5:00pm
Session Chair: Stuart Parkin

Award Poster Prize and Closing Remarks

Conference Sponsors



European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation
programme under the Marie Sklodowska-Curie grant agreement number 861145.

EPSRC funding, grants: EP/S022953/1, EP/P027032/1, EP/P007767/1 and EP/T012218/1 (joint with Electrical Communication and Cyber Systems (ECCS) Scheme of NSF (USA).


Funding from the Chair in Emerging Technologies grant: CIET1819_24.

Interested in becoming a sponsor? Find out how.